Bitter Ex-Wives & Other Freaks of Nature

Being the new wife takes on a new demension when the EX won’t let go. My true story…

March 21, 2000 – Janice Thompson, Attorney At Law July 27, 2007

Filed under: attorney,divorce,fashion,life,love — bitterexwives @ 8:48 pm

  The appointment with Janice, yes we are on a first name basis, was significantly less traumatic than the appointment with Dr. Ellis. Establishing a sense of control has its benefits – partial restoration of my self-esteem and self-confidence being the top two.  For the past four months, I unknowingly surrendered control of my life to Bryce.  Conversations were had at his convenience, time spent together was coordinated at his discretion, the state of our marriage was dictated by his desire to remain faithful or not, even my financial situation was based upon whether Bryce felt inclined to send his portion of our joint financial obligations.  Emotionally, financially, and spiritually I had become dependent upon Bryce. Well not anymore!

  Janice’s office is located on the outskirts of downtown Indianapolis, which is conveniently less than a 10-minute commute from my office.  Armed with our entire marital financial history, I walked into Janice’s office with a renewed confidence and greeted Darlene, the legal secretary/paralegal.  The waiting area was beautifully decorated by someone with great taste.  The burgundy leather sofa and wing back chairs with brass studs were stereotypical attorney furniture yet spoke of high quality.  While the furniture carried a masculine feel, the room was softened by a large floral arrangement displayed upon an ornately carved pedestal.  Strategically placed throughout the room were floral oil paintings, small bric-a-brac, and an eclectic selection of magazines that boasted a definite feminine presence.  Only a woman or gay man pays that much attention to detail and placement. Instinctively, I knew I was going to like Janice. 

  Within minutes, Darlene showed me into Janice’s personal conference room.  The waiting room wasn’t a facade for a shabby and dilapidated office space – the hand of the decorating genius apparently extended to every room I passed, which included the library, bathroom, main conference room and the attorney’s personal offices.  I know you should never judge a book by its cover or the integrity of a woman by her Manolo Blahniks, but I was impressed.  To be truthful, I couldn’t wait to meet Janice in person!  It is shameful I know, but I was really hoping she would enter the conference room in a flourish wearing a Donna Karen suit, Jimmy Choo stilettos, and flaunting amazing hair. Yes, at times, I am shallow – but I can’t help it, I love fashion!

  At exactly 5:30, Janice entered the conference room and she did not disappoint the fashion aficionado living within me. That is until I looked at her hair!  Aaagghhhh! My mission, now that I have chosen to accept it – for the Mission Impossible fans like myself – is to make sure Janice switches to my hair salon, preferably my stylist by the end of my divorce.  After introductions, Janice sat at the conference table and grilled me for 30 minutes about my courtship and marriage to Bryce, our current separation, and impending divorce. Even though I promised myself I wouldn’t cry, holding back the tears was impossible.  Janice whipped out a Kleenex from her hidden stash and consoled me, but kept the dialog going – which at a $150 dollars an hours for her services I was appreciative.

  By 7:30, all of the paperwork was completed and ready for Darlene to type.  I was digging in my purse for my checkbook to pay the first $500 dollar installment towards Janice’s $1500 retainer fee. Pissed does not accurately describe my feelings toward Bryce for causing my continued financial demise. He is such an ass!

  In any case, Janice scheduled an appointment for me to return tomorrow at noon. The final paperwork will be ready for my signature and Darlene will file everything with the Domestic Relations Court. I am actually getting divorced. 

 

Leave a Reply

