Bitter Ex-Wives & Other Freaks of Nature

Being the new wife takes on a new demension when the EX won’t let go. My true story…

March 8, 2000 – Certified Mail July 4, 2007

Filed under: divorce,irreconcilable differences,life — bitterexwives @ 12:53 am

  I found in today’s mail one of those cute little green cards notifying me that I had received a letter via certified mail.  Everyone knows what that means…I am either being sued, a warrant has been issued for my arrest, or someone died.  Neither of the three prospects were pleasant.

  Fortunately or should I say unfortunately, depending upon one’s perspective, I arrived home early enough to run to the post office before it closed.  Here is my dramatic side coming out…with fear and trepidation I retrieved my certified letter and stuffed it in my purse until I arrived back in the comforts of my home. Yet, even at home, I waited to open the letter for fear of the bad news it was bound to contain. And so I set the stage, for if I was fated to receive bad news, I decided to receive it my way. After changing out of my work clothes and slipping into something comfortable, I sat down with a bottle of beer and opened the letter.

  Immediately, I thought I would be sick.  My husband was filing for a divorce.  Reason cited…”Irreconcilable Differences”. The bubble of delusion was broken. All I could do was roll into the fetal position and cry. “Were we having problems? Yes. Were they bad?  Yes, bad enough for you to move into your mother’s house. Were you cheating on me? Yes. Did I think you would leave me forever? Never.”

 

Leave a Reply

